The silver James Murphy trophy for annual competition, was presented in 1912 to Fort William’s best curling rink.

More about James Murphy.

Fort William and Port Arthur, now Thunder Bay, have a long and glorious curling history and can boast World Championship rinks in both the men’s and women’s categories.

Some of the more recent achievements include:

  • Bill Tetley Rink (Brier Champions, 1975);
  • Rick Lang Rink (Mixed Canadian Curling Champions,  1981);
  • Al Hackner Rink (Brier Champions, 1982, 1985; World Champions, 1982, 1985);
  • Heather Houston Rink (Canadian Women’s Champions, 1988, 1989; World Champions, 1989).