The annual Presidents’ Reception of the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society is held on the first Sunday in January. This event brings together the Society’s Presidents, membership, staff, and the general public to bring in the new year. Food and entertainment are provided along with the presentation of the Society’s (biannual) publications awards. This year’s Presidents’ Reception will take place on Sunday, January 3, 2016, from 1:30pm to 3:30pm at the Thunder Bay Museum. Entertainment this year will be provided by the Baytones.


Last year’s reception was on January 4, 2015. The winners and presenters of our biannual publications awards for 2015 are pictured. Front row (l-r): Sara Janes and Beth Boegh (presenters). Back row (l-r): Jim Foulds (winner of the George B. Macgillivray Award for best popular articles); Michel Beauleu (winner of the Elizabeth Arthur and the Gertrude H. Dyke Awards for best  academic and popular books); Ernie Epp (presenter); Bev Soloway (winner of the J.P. Bertrand Award for best academic article).